Charlotte Carter

Charlotte Carter

Amateur Sleuth Mysteries
Woman Sleuth

Audiobooks Available

Charlotte Carter is the creator of the Nanette Hayes and Cook County mystery series. Her work has received high praise for its innovation and compelling storytelling. Her ameture sleuth Nanette Hayes is a street performing jazz saxophonist who has her masters degree in French. She gets involved in a series of events that require her to become the sleuth who solves the mystery.

Charlotte Carter's Cook County series of books are set in Chicago in 1968. Ms. Carter captures the tension of this critical time in U.S. history and uses it as a backdrop for a mystery that turns three friends into ameture sleuths. has a good article on Ms. Carter.

The book pages contain affiliate links. If you use these links to purchase a book, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Jackson Park
Trip Wire
Rhode Island Red
Coq au Vin
Rooster's Riff