Nora Deloach

Nora Deloach

Cozy Mysteries
Woman Sleuth

Nora Deloach is the author of the Mama Detective series. A cozy mystery series of eight books that features Grace Covington aka Candi aka Mama as the amateur sleuth. Her stories are set in a small town named Otis in South Carolina. Her stories highlight Southern Black life. Grace Covington (Mama) worked in Otis, South Carolina as a welfare caseworker but life events would draw her into the role of amateur sleuth. Mama is assisted in her investigations by her daughter Simone, who works in a lawyer's office in Atlanta. Their relationship is a key part of this series.

Books in the series

  1. Mama Solves a Murder (1995)
  2. Mama Traps a Killer (1995)
  3. Mama Saves a Victim (1997)
  4. Mama Stands Accused (1997)
  5. Mama Stalks the Past (1997)
  6. Mama Rocks the Empty Cradle (1998)
  7. Mama Pursues Murderous Shadows (2000)
  8. Mama Cracks a Mask of Innocence (2001)

The first four books in the series are not currently in print but you can find used copies online. The last four books in the series are available as e-books as well as new paperbacks.

Unfortunately, we lost Nora DeLoach in June of 2001 to leukemia. However, Nora left behind eight delightful books that can be enjoyed well into the future.

Mama Solves a Murder
Mama Traps a Killer
Mama Saves A Victim
Mama Stands Accused
Mama Stalks the Past
Mama Rocks the Empty Cradle
Mama Pursues Murderous Shadows
Mama Cracks a Mask of Innocence